• 159,000 Acres designated Wilderness that PWV cares for
  • 28,000 PWV volunteer hours for 2016
  • 300 Active Members ages 18 to over 80
  • 100% Volunteer PWV has no paid staff
  • 286 Miles trails that PWV patrols
  • $5,400,000 total value of PWV hours to USFS since 2005

PWV is comprised of about 320 individuals who live primarily in northern Colorado and who range in age from 18 to 80 years old. Our volunteers represent nearly every imaginable background and all walks of life. The group consists of retirees as well as people still actively working in such fields as medicine, education, public and private administration and business.

Read more: Who We Are

The mission of Poudre Wilderness Volunteers is to assist the Canyon Lakes Ranger District of the United States Forest Service in managing and protecting wilderness and backcountry areas within its jurisdiction. To achieve this mission, Poudre Wilderness Volunteers recruits, trains, equips and fields citizen volunteers to serve as wilderness rangers and hosts for the purpose of educating the public, and provides other appropriate support to these wild areas.

In 1995, a volunteer ranger for the USFS, Charles Bell, who patrolled the trails of what is now the Canyon Lakes Ranger District, became extremely worried about the cuts to the ranger district’s budget over the previous three years – from 3 full-time persons and 30 seasonal employees down to just 1 full-time person and 2 part-timers to look after its extensive backcountry and wilderness areas.

Read more: Poudre Wilderness Volunteers at a Glance

pwv bod 2018

Front: Elaine Green , Jim Greuel, Margaret Shaklee, Jeff Dean
Middle:  Mike Reynolds, Bob Meyer, Jim Zakely, Tom Adams, Holly Young
Back: Linda Reiter, Randy Ratliff, Celia Walker, Jack Morgan, Janet Caille
Randy Ratliff (Chair)
Margaret Shaklee (Most Recent Past Chair)
Tom Adams (Chair-Elect)
Bob Meyer (Treasurer)
Janet Caille (Secretary)
Kevin Cannon (USFS Liaison)
Jeff Dean
Elaine Green
Jim Greuel
Jack Morgan
Linda Reiter
Mike Reynolds
Celia Walker
Holly Young
Jim Zakely
Fred Allen
Chuck Bell
Dave Cantrell
Gerry Cashman
Mike Corbin
Jan Creager
Sandy Erskine
Jerry Hanley
Bob Hansen
Judy Jacks
Bob Manuel
Alan Meyer
Meg Parmer
Jacques Rieux
Karl Riters
Jim Shaklee
Mike Smith
Mark Snyder
Cheri Van Ackern
Garin Vandemark
George Wallace
Lori Wiles
Kristy Wumkes
Adopt-A-Highway - Holly Young
Adopt-A-Trail - Mark Snyder
Affiliation Gatherings - Bob Hansen
Annual Calendar on PWV Website - Chair-Elect
Annual Report - Most Recent Past Chair
Content Coordination - Mike Corbin
Finance - Bob Meyer
Fund DevelopmentPosition Vacant
Kick-off Night - Elaine Green
Kids in Nature - Jeanne Corbin
LNT Program - Jim Greuel
Member Relations - Sandy Erskine
Mentoring Program - Dale Grit & Alan Meyer
Office Crew - Nancy Hicks & Liz Manes-Ruhl
Off-Trail Program - Holly Young
Organization Handbook - Mike Corbin
Patrol Gear - Marion Wells
Patrol Scheduling - Bob Hansen
Photography & Video - Peter Skiba
Poudre Trails Newsletter - Beth Keller
Public Outreach - Kasha Karol & Mike Reynolds
Publications - Position Vacant
Recertification - Jeffrey Dean
Recruiting - Celia Walker & Jim Zakely
Restoration - Mike Corbin & Mark Snyder
Spring Training, 2018 - Margaret Shaklee
Spring Training Animal Group Leaders & Role Players - Gerry Cashman, Mike Corbin & Janet Caille
Stock Patrol - Sandy Erskine
Strategic Planning - Jerry Hanley
Supplemental Training - Jackie Picard
Supplies & Storage - Elaine Green
Surveys & Evaluations - Margaret Shaklee
Trail Crew - Bob Manuel
Trail Patrolling - Jeanne Corbin
Training Manual - Mike Corbin
USFS Patrolling Website - USFS
Web Team - Karl Riters
Weed Crew - Jim Shaklee
Year-End Event & Annual Meeting - Current Chair & Chair-Elect